The local history museum in Lügde
The local history museum of Lügde is situated here, at the southern entrance to the historic old town. The half-timbered house was built in 1799, two years after the great town fire. The inscription still refers to this terrible event. The local history museum of Lügde has been accommodated in this historic building since 1987. Much care was taken during the renovation and conversion work to restore it to its original condition. The museum provides fascinating and interesting information about rural life, how people worked and about the town history of Lügde. The local history museum, a typical citizen-farmer house, with its simple and economical design, is described as a "reflection of its time". The museum café serves coffee and cake.